Bikkels.reismee.nl

Ron: Preperations started

Because I did put some foreign friend on the e-mail list here, I will try to write my stories in English as much as possible. So they can follow our efforts as well. I probably will take a small laptop with me because I can use that to check my spelling

Wink
. But besides that little convenience, it can also be handy to plot a route for some of the parts which we don't know too well, store all those lovely pictures on, save the GPS-tracks for future reference and edit this site whenever possible. For those who think this is going to be a back-to-nature-adventure; you're wrong. I'm going to be high-tech ready to lead my fellow travellers safely home using GPS, Mapsource and astrology!

Our trip is planned to take off on Sunday the 22nd of May. Taking a one way flight to Istanbul will leave us no other choice then head back to Maastricht on bicycle. But not before we stay in this supposedly lovely city for an entire day to see all the highlights. I know my brother in law does think that's a waste of time, but luckily my Sister knows how to enjoy some culture. We've never been there, so it's a perfect opportunity to see if one of us wants to go back for a longer stay.

Because we'll arrive in the Asian part of Istanbul, we have to cross the Bosporus to get to Europe. There are two bridges but both closed to slow traffic.Therefor the only option to getto the other side will be by swimming (which is hard to do when carrying a bike) or by ferry.Majority of votesdecided for the latter. The nice thing about landing in Asia is that we can brag about the fact we cycled from that continent all the way home!

I'll keep you all updated of developments towards and during this trip.

Reacties

Reacties

Rik

To bridges??? Is it like to bridge (the game);)??
Volgens mij verbeter jij me altijd met dan ik en als ik
dus bij deze het is two bridges;)
en de 2 andere foutjes vergeef ik je wel ff

Mat

Ty for making it in english as well :) Its a bit hard to get the dutch...google translation, sure but it dont cover it all and its a hard work to use it word by word ;)

Ron

Thanks... Rik, fijn dat je mij weet te corrigeren. Nu nog de fiets ter hand nemen en laten zien dat je je oom ook daar in van repliek kunt dienen.

{{ reactie.poster_name }}

Reageer

Laat een reactie achter!

De volgende fout is opgetreden
  • {{ error }}
{{ reactieForm.errorMessage }}
Je reactie is opgeslagen!